Corporate Lobbying Alignment Project (CLAP)

Preventable Surprises is delighted to launch the Corporate Lobbying Alignment Project. This new applied research and engagement project will work to make corporate political capture a central component of  investors’ approach to ESG stewardship and integration. It will leverage information on the state of play for key sectors and share lessons learned from past investor engagements. Through research interviews and a series of events, we will engage with the global investment community to help prioritise areas for action. Check out our launch blog and monitor this page for updates.

Read our first discussion note on the transportation sector or its short summary blog: corporate lobbying across the automotive, aviation, shipping and downstream fossil fuel sector is blocking the transition to zero emissions transport systems. The sector is important as it drives global commerce and accounts for almost one quarter of all direct CO2 emissions from fuel combustion, and emissions are growing, but the sector continues to lobby for the status quo rather than for the change that is required. As the coronavirus pandemic continues to expose weaknesses in the business model of many companies, investors have a unique window of opportunity to engage with the transport sector to change behaviour.

We will hold a first online roundtable on 26 August at 10am EDT- 3pm BST  – 4pm CET to discuss case studies, investor experience and actionable ideas on the transportation sector. Please plan for two hours. You can register your interest here.

We welcome engagement and feedback. Please get in touch with your comments on how investors can better address corporate political capture and to learn more at: research at preventablesurprises dot com

The Corporate Lobbying Alignment Project is generously supported by the Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust.